pc poison by bbc.co.uk

1: Lead in cathode ray tube and solder

2: Arsenic in older cathode ray tubes

5: Antimony trioxide as flame retardant

4: Polybrominated flame retardants in plastic casings, cables and circuit boards

3: Selenium in circuit boards as power supply rectifier

6: Cadmium in circuit boards and semiconductors

7: Chromium in steel as corrosion protection

8: Cobalt in steel for structure and magnetivity

9: Mercury in switches and housing

I’ve been wondering about what happens to those old computers, phones and other electronic junks. They must be hard to dispose…There is an article about ewaste at bbc news online,

UN warning on e-waste ‘mountain‘” headlined, “The world’s richest nations are dumping hazardous electronic waste on poor African countries, says the head of the UN’s Environment Programme (Unep).”

Uggh, ok, so rich countries are dumping their ewaste in poor countries’ land? ewastes are obviously toxic, perhaps more toxic than I imagined. Like nuclear waste and other chemica wastes, these waste always mysteriously disappear and it’s not well known how and where they are dumping these toxic waste.

Personally, I’m concerned when I throw away old computers (I haven’t had a chance yet but, I did throw away some broken inkjet printer) There are days for old computer trash pickups by the New York City and I was aware that ewaste is different than others but, I have no knowledge of how they disposed broken old computers…